Family humor

Kiddo food…from whole grains and fresh fruit to fruit snacks and suckers

While driving this morning to drop off  Junior (3) I thought about my kid’s eating habits. Actually, it was Junior asking for a “snack” and J (11) giving him fruit snacks and a sucker at 7:00 am that made me think about my kid’s eating habits.

When J was born he got zip-top baggies filled with whole grain cereal and bite size pieces of fresh fruit that I cut up for him.

When Sassafras (8) came along I loosened up a bit and she got zip-top bags filled with sugary cereals and occasionally some fresh fruit in her morning commute baggie.

Now as I sit and look in my rear view mirror at Junior eating fruit snacks and a sucker; I wonder what kind of parent have I become? I shudder to think what a fourth child would be reduced to eating.

Today I take a vow to brainstorm ways I can bring back the whole grain and fresh fruit parent I used to be…right after I finish this baggie of M&Ms!

3 thoughts on “Kiddo food…from whole grains and fresh fruit to fruit snacks and suckers

Leave a Reply

